Skip to main content
2019 Annual Report
2019 Annual Report

2019 Annual Report

and Leadership

Pipeline 2, a 48-inch-diameter pipeline built adjacent to Pipeline 1, began delivering imported water in 1954.


New Board Officers Take Leadership Roles

New officers for the Water Authority’s Board of Directors were unanimously elected in September, with Jim Madaffer starting his two-year term as chair on October 1. Madaffer, formerly vice chair of the Board as a representative from the City of San Diego, serves with incoming Vice Chair Gary Croucher from Otay Water District and Secretary Christy Guerin from Olivenhain Municipal Water District. Mark Muir, who served as chair for the previous two years and represented the San Dieguito Water District, was honored for his leadership during an era of water supply reliability, continued water-use efficiency, the adoption of new technologies to improve agency operations.