Water Authority Honors Winning Students in Conservation Art and Essay Contest

Short Title
Be WaterSm"ART" Essay Contest
Students answer the question “What does being water smart mean to me?”

Twelve students from elementary schools across the county received recognition for their winning entries in the Be WaterSm"ART"Essay Contest sponsored by the San Diego County Water Authority and the San Diego County Office of Education.

More than 450 second-grade through fifth-grade students from 25 area schools entered the contest that asked them to write an essay and draw a picture answering the question, “What does being water smart mean to me?”  Students received awards and prizes at a reception held today at the Reuben H. Fleet Science Center.

“We were overwhelmed at the students’ thoughtfulness and passion about water conservation that they conveyed through their essays and drawings,” said Elsa Saxod, Chair of the Water Authority Board’s Legislation, Conservation and Outreach Committee, and host for the award ceremony. “We want to thank the parents and teachers who encouraged these kids to enter. Instilling in our children an ethic to conserve and protect our precious water resources helps them grow into adults who will continue to be ‘water smart.’”

Three students from each grade level received an award certificate and prizes donated by Geppetto’s Toy Store, Boomers! and Atlantis Laser Tag.  The chart below lists each winning student’s name, grade and school.

The winning art and essay entries can be viewed online at: www.sdcwa.org/be-watersmart-essay-contest. A part of Water Awareness month, the winning entries will also be on display through the end of May in the lobby of the Water Authority’s headquarters at 4677 Overland Ave. in Kearny Mesa.   


Name  Grade  School Name  Placed
 Madelaine Giek  2nd  Francis W. Parker Lower School  1st
 Nicole Luna  2nd  Our Lady of Grace Elementary  2nd
 Garrett Kunkler  2nd  Cardiff Elementary  3rd
 Mia Salatka  3rd  Barnard Elementary  1st
 Heather Holdo  3rd  Bonsall Elementary  2nd
 Connor Newton  3rd  Bonsall Elementary  3rd
 Melissa Deorsola  4th  Sunset View Elementary  1st
 Jesse Goldstein  4th  Hawthorne Elementary  2nd
 Nina Morch  4th  Hawthorne Elementary  3rd
 Christina Ryder  5th  South Oceanside Elementary  1st
 Nailah McDuffie  5th  Wegeforth Elementary  2nd
 Emily Huynh  5th  Farr Elementary  3rd